Jenny Saville at Modern Art Oxford

‘The Yard’
Modern Art Oxford.

Yesterday I was lucky enough to visit the Modern Art Gallery in Oxford, to see Jenny Saville’s first UK Solo exhibition. Last year during my Art Foundation course, Jenny Saville and her work were a massive inspiration for a project I did about the ‘Female Condition.’ This made going to see her work first hand even more exciting to see. I love the physicality of Saville’s work and her unconventional technique of layering paint with violent brushstrokes, however for me I am particularly drawn to the meaning behind the work. Social categorisation and documenting the female form in a very matter of fact way. The work is very personal to Saville, which I think as a viewer enhances the beauty of her paintings even more, as you enter a very intimate space.

The gallery itself followed a contemporary theme, the shop was full of an eclectic mix of books and gifts. The cafe situated in ‘The Yard’ at the front entrance had an urban cool eco feel with open space, sculptural wood work, metals and brightly coloured seating. High ceilings allowed for over the top lighting which resembled chinese lanterns. Definitely worth a trip if you are nearby.

Leave a comment